THE SIMÓN BOLÍVAR PROFESSORSHIP OF LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES UNIVERSITY OF CAMBRIDGE

In 1968 the University of Cambridge established the Simon Bolivar Chair of Latin American Studies with the endowment provided by the Government of Venezuela for the purpose of bringing a distinguished Latin American scholar or intellectual each year to Cambridge. Under the terms of its foundation, each year a distinguished scholar and citizen of the Latin American countries is elected as Professor. There is no restriction on the academic speciality of the Simon Bolivar Professors, among whom have figured economists, poets, lawyers, historians and natural scientists. Each professor is assigned to the Faculty most appropriate to his academic interests and he is expected to deliver a set of lectures or classes in that Faculty. The Professor is also elected Fellow of a College. The Professor is also usually closely associated with the work of the Centre of Latin American Studies and from time to time is expected to participate in the open seminars organised by the Centre. He has an office situated close to it and his bilingual secretary occupies a desk in the main office. It should be observed that the Simon Bolivar Professor is a full officer of the University during the period of his appointment, with the rights and responsibilities of a professor of Cambridge University.

The purpose of the Simon Bolivar Chair is both to strengthen and develop the study of Latin America in Cambridge and also to promote the knowledge of Latin America in Great Britain. Professors have often travelled widely in the U.K., delivering lectures in several universities; many have offered lectures in Canning House or other institutions in London. At the same time, several professors have written books or furthered their research during their year at Cambridge. The existence of the Chair has allowed the University to bring to this country a significant number of distinguished scholars and intellectuals and has thus served to promote cultural relations between Latin America and Great Britain. The following list testifies to the prestige which the Chair commands.

1968-69	Arnaldo Gabaldon Venezuelan Doctor of Tropical Medicine
1969-70	Octavio Paz Mexican poet and critic
1970-71	Marcel Roche Venezuelan physician
1971-72	Sergio Villalobos Chilean historian
1972-73	Alvaro Jara Chilean historian
1973-74	Celso Furtado Brazilian economist
1974-75	Pedro Grases Venezuelan historian and bibliographer
1975-76	Ignacio Bernal Mexican archaeologist

1976-77	Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazilian sociologist (and subsequent President of Brazil)
1977-78	Mario Vargas Llosa Peruvian novelist and critic
1978-79	German Carrera Damas Venezuelan historian
1979-80	Tulio Arends Venezuelan haematologist
1980-81	Chair vacant
1981-82	Pablo Gonzalez Casanova Mexican sociologist
1982-83	Ramon Escovar Salom Venezuelan constitutional lawyer
1983-84	Chair vacant
1984-85	Chair vacant
1985-86	Allan Brewer Carias Venezuelan constitutional lawyer
1986-87	Carlos Fuentes Mexican novelist and critic
1987-88	Chair vacant
1988-89	Blas Bruni Celli (MT) Venezuelan Pathologist and President National Committee for the Dr Jose Vargas Bicentenial
1989-90	Gustavo Gutierrez (LT + ET) Peruvian Theologist
1990-91	Chair vacant
1991-92	Beatriz Sarlo (LT and ET) Professor of Philosophy and Literature, University Buenos Aires
1992-93	Luis H. Castro Levia Director Instituto Internacional de Estudios Avanzados, Caracas, Venezuela.
1993-94	Jose de Souza Martins Professor of Sociology University of Sao Paulo, Brazil.
1994-95	Jaime Requena Professor, International Institute of Advanced Studies Caracas, Venezuela.
1995-96	Julio Ortega Professor of Hispanic Studies Brown University Providence, USA.

1996-97	Professor E Florescano National Institute of Anthropology and History Mexico
1997-98	Dr E Viveiros de Castro Associate Professor Department of Anthropology Graduate Profram of Social Anthropology National Museum Rio de Janeiro
1998-99	Dr R Cerdas Professor at the CIAPA San Jose Costa Rica
1999-2000	Professor E Tandeter Professor of History
2000-2001	Dr F Perez (MT 2000) Dean of the Faculty of Architecture and Fine Arts Catholic University of Chile, Santiago
2001-2002	A Baptista Professor Professor of Economics and Political Economy Venezuela
2002-2003	Professor G O'Donnell Argentine sociologist
	[Helen Kellogg Professor of Government, University of Notre Dame]
2003-2004	Professor G de la Peña Research Professor at the CIESAS-Occidente, Mexico
2004-2005	Professor Gonzalez de la Rocha
2005-2007	Chair vacant
2007-2008	Professor Jose Luis Lanata Argentine archaeologist and anthropologist
2008-2009	Professor Scarlett O'Phelan Godoy Peruvian historian
2009-2010	Professor Carlos Iván Degregori Peruvian anthropologist
	Professor Fabián Michelangeli Venezuelan biologist
2011-2012	Professor A Gorelik Argentinian architect and historian
2012-2013	Professor P Birman Brazilian social anthropologist